Current Lab Members

Timothy Gomez

Position title: Principal Investigator | Professor

Email: tmgomez@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-4554

Address:
RESEARCH INTERESTS - The long-term objective of our research is to better understand the intracellular signaling cascades and downstream molecular mechanisms responsible for the assembly of neural circuits during development. For this we must understand how developing axons and dendrites are guided to their proper targets where they assemble specific synaptic connections. Mutations in genes involved in axon guidance, circuit assembly and synaptic transmission are responsible for many deficits in cognitive function, including autisms, dyslexia and numerous other learning disabilities.

Current Graduate Students

Tara Loughery

Position title: NTP student

Email: loughery@wisc.edu

RESEARCH INTERESTS: I am interested in the mechanisms used by developing motor neurons to exit the spinal cord and navigate to their targets in the periphery. In understanding how these cells initiate their journey and traverse diverse environments, I hope to apply this knowledge to future research in motor neuron regeneration.

Austin Pier

Position title: NTP student

Email: pier2@wisc.edu

RESEARCH INTERESTS: I am interested in the cellular and molecular mechanisms behind neurodevelopmental and neurodegenerative disorders, and utilizing stem cell models in combination with genetic, molecular biological, and biochemical techniques to study how different mutations cause these disorders.

Current Undergraduate Students

Kimmy Chappell

Position title: Sophomore

Email: klchappell@wisc.edu

Udaya Gadiparthi

Position title: Freshman

Email: gadiparthi@wisc.edu

Dana Stumpfoll

Position title: Sophomore

Email: dstumpfoll@wisc.edu

Monique Thole

Position title: Sophomore

Email: mthole@wisc.edu

Madalynn Welch*

Position title: Senior

Email: mjwelch2@wisc.edu

* Denotes Hilldale Fellow