Current Lab Members

Timothy Gomez

Position title: Principal Investigator | Professor

Email: tmgomez@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-4554

Address:
RESEARCH INTERESTS - Work in my laboratory focuses on the intracellular mechanisms that regulate growth cone motility and behavior. Growth cones are sensory-motor specializations at the tips of all growing axons and dendrites that detect and transduce extracellular cues into guided outgrowth.

Current Graduate Students

Tara Loughery

Position title: NTP student

Email: loughery@wisc.edu

Austin Pier

Position title: NTP student

Email: pier2@wisc.edu

Sarah Rempel

Position title: CMB Student

Email: srempel@wisc.edu

I am interested in understanding how human stem cell-derived photoreceptors extend axons in vitro and in situ in 3D retinal organoids. These cells are promising candidates to use for cell transplant therapies to cure blindness caused by diseases such as cone/rod dystrophies and Age-related Macular Degeneration. By understanding how human photoreceptors develop in vitro and in human organoids, I hope to better understand aspects of normal human retinal development and to better inform transplant therapies.

Current Undergraduate Students

Haley Annes

Position title: Senior

Email: hmannes@wisc.edu

Kimmy Chappell

Position title: Junior

Email: klchappell@wisc.edu

Madalynn Welch*

Position title: Senior

Email: mjwelch2@wisc.edu

* Denotes Hilldale Fellow